RoHS2

Richtlinie 2011/65/EU zur Beschränkung (der Verwendung bestimmter) gefährlicher Stoffe in Elektronikgeräten (bekannt als RoHS2) wurde am 21. Juli 2011 Europäisches Recht und wurde in den Mitgliedstaaten am 2. Januar 2013 wirksam. RoHS2 zieht eine viel größere Pallette an Geräten in Betracht aber führt noch keine neuen Stoffeinschränkungen ein. Ein weiterer sehr wichtiger Unterschied besteht darin, dass die RoHS2 eine CE-Kennzeichnungsrichtlinie mitsichbringt. Dies wird genauestens besprochen in der Guide to Using BOMcheck and EN 50581 to Comply with RoHS2 Technical Documentation Requirements.

RoHS2 verlangt von den Herstellern eine technische Dokumentation zu erstellen, die zeigt, dass Ihre Produkte mit der RoHS-Richtlinie konform sind - entsprechend dem Modul A des Beschlusses 768/2008/EC. Dies ist ein bedeutender Unterschied verglichen mit der RoHS1 Richtlinie, die keine Anforderungen an Hersteller stellt Compliance-Dokumentation zu pflegen. RoHS2 beinhaltet auch Verpflichtungen für alle EU-Mitgliedsstaaten eine systematische Marktbeobachtung inklusive einer "angemessenen Kontrolle von Produktkonformität in einem angemessenen Maßstab" mithilfe von Dokumentenprüfung und dort wo notwendig mit Hilfe von physikalischen und Laborprüfungen auf Basis von angemessenen Proben" zu gewährleisten. Dagegen schrieb die RoHS1 keine Maßnahmen zur Geltendmachung vor, die die Mitgliedstaaten verpflichtet waren umzusetzen.

Es gibt viele verschiedene Ansätze, die Unternehmen verwenden können, um die notwendigen technischen Dokumente auszuarbeiten, um vorzuweisen, dass ihre Produkte RoHS-konform sind. Viele Firmen haben bereits Konformitätsprozesse und Qualitätsmanamgentsysteme für RoHS1-Konformität und für andere Produkte Regulierungsanforderungen eingeführt. Jedes Unternehmen muss für sich den besten Ansatz finden, um die notwendigen technischen Dokumente für RoHS2 zu verfassen, die dann sinnvoll für ihre bestehenden Compliance-Prozesse und Qualitätsmanagementsysteme genutzt werden können.

Der Europäische Standard EN50581:2012 " Technische Dokumentation zur Beurteilung von Elektro- und Elektronikgeräten hinsichtlich der Beschränkung gefährlicher Stoffe" wurde im September 2012 veröffentlicht und offiziell von der Europäischen Kommission als eine Methode zur Konformität mit RoHS2 Technischen Dokumentationsanforderungen gebilligt. Unter Artikel 16(2) der RoHS2-Richtlinie soll ein Hersteller, der seine Konformität mit EN 50581:2012 nachweisen kann auch als konform mit den RoHS2 Anforderungen hinsichtlich der technischen Dokumentation gelten. Die RoHS.Regulierungsbehörden der EU erwarten von den Unternehmen den Standard EN50581 anzunehmen oder nachzuweisen, dass Ihre Konformitätsansatz gleichwertige Qualitätslevel liefern.

The Guide to Using BOMcheck and EN 50581 to Comply with RoHS2 Technical Documentation Requirements bietet eine parktische Schritt-für-Schritt-Herangehensweise an, die Hersteller annehmen und in Ihrer Lieferkette implementieren können, um die geforderten technischen Dokumente zur RoHS2-Richtlinie für ein Produktmodell und eine EU-Konformitätserklärung zur Verfügung stellen zu können. Diese praktische Herangehensweise erklärt auch, wie Hersteller wählen können den EN50581:2012 Standard und das BOMcheck System wählen können um mit der technischen Dokumentation der RoHS2-Richtlinie konform zu sein. Als Beispiel kann Carestream Health herangezogen werden, die erfolgreich diese Herangehensweise nutzen. achieve RoHS2 compliance for Medical Devices by using EN 50581 and BOMcheck.

BomCheck unterstützt die Prozesse, die in dem Standard EN50581 für Hersteller erklärt werden, um mit der technischen Dokumentation der RoHS2 Richtlinie konform zu sein.

How BOMcheck supports the process specified in EN 50581 for Manufacturers to comply with RoHS2 Technical Documentation requirements

Im obigen Diagramm wird der Prozess des EN50581 Standards zusammengefasst und hebt gleichzeitig hervor, wie BomCheck genutzt werden kann, um die Dokumente der Zulieferer (Klausel 4.3.3) zu sammeln. Zusätzlich ist ersichtlich, wie BOMcheck so dem Hersteller Zeit und Arbeit erspart die Anforderungen an die Dokumentenauswertung dieser Klausel 4.3.4 zu erfüllen. BOMcheck hielt am 19. Juli 2012 ein webinar ab, das zeigte wie der standardisierte Prozess, den Zulieferer verfolgen um Stoffdeklarationen in BOMcheck zu erstellen, sicherstellt, dass diese Deklarationen bereits die Qualitäts- und Zuverlässigkeitsanforderungen aus Klausel 4.3.4 haben (z.B.: Hersteller müssen keine weiteren Dokumentationsauswertung durchführen). Sollte die Bewertung des Herstellers in Klausel 4.3.2 ergeben, dass der Zulieferer auch verpflichtet ist Testberichte vorzulegen um seine Materialdeklarationen zu untestützen, dann verlangt der standardisierte Prozess, den Zuliefer folgen, um einen Testbericht an Deklarationen in BOMcheck beizufügen, dass der Herrsteller prüfen muss, ob der Testbericht die Qualitäts- und Zuverlässigkeitsanforderungen der Klausel 4.3.4 erfüllt (Dies reduziert den Zeit und Arbeitsaufwand des Herstellers um die Testberichte zu prüfen). Für weitere Information gehen Sie bitte auf: recorded webinar on using BOMcheck and EN 50581 to comply with RoHS2 Technical Documentation Requirements und auf slides from the webinar.

RoHS2

Directive 2011/65/EU on the Restriction of the Use of Certain Hazardous Substances in Electrical and Electronic Equipment (known as RoHS2) became European Law on 21 July 2011 and took effect in EU Member States from 2 January 2013. RoHS2 brings a much wider range of equipment into scope but does not introduce any new substance restrictions yet. Another very important difference is that RoHS2 is a CE Marking Directive - this is discussed in detail in the BOMcheck Guide to Using BOMcheck and EN 50581 to Comply with RoHS2 Technical Documentation Requirements.

RoHS2 requires Manufacturers to produce technical documentation which demonstrates that their products are RoHS compliant, in line with Module A of Decision 768/2008/EC. This is a significant difference compared to the RoHS1 Directive which does not prescribe any requirements for Manufacturers to maintain compliance documentation. RoHS2 also includes obligations for all EU Member States to perform systematic market surveillance including "appropriate checks on product compliance on an adequate scale, by means of documentary checks and, where appropriate, physical and laboratory checks on the basis of adequate samples". In contrast, RoHS1 did not prescribe any enforcement procedures that Member States were required to implement.

There are many different approaches that companies can use to draw up the required technical documentation to demonstrate that their products are RoHS compliant. Many companies already have established compliance processes and quality management systems for RoHS1 compliance and for other product regulatory requirements. Each company has to decide the best approach for drawing up the RoHS2 technical documentation which makes best use of their existing compliance processes and quality management systems.

European Standard EN 50581:2012 "Technical documentation for the evaluation of electrical and electronic products with respect to restriction of hazardous substances" was published in September 2012 and officially endorsed by the European Commission as an approved method for compliance with RoHS2 Technical Documentation requirements. Under Article 16 (2) of the RoHS2 Directive, a Manufacturer who demonstrates compliance with EN 50581:2012 shall be deemed to be compliant to the RoHS2 technical documentation requirements. The EU RoHS regulatory authorities expect companies to adopt the EN 50581 standard or provide evidence that their compliance approach provides equivalent quality levels.

The BOMcheck Guide to Using BOMcheck and EN 50581 to Comply with RoHS2 Technical Documentation Requirements provides a step-by-step practical approach that Manufacturers can choose to adapt and implement in their supply chains to generate the required RoHS2 technical documentation for a product model and provide an EU Declaration of Conformity. This practical approach explains how Manufacturers can choose to use the EN 50581:2012 European Standard and the BOMcheck system to comply with the RoHS2 technical documentation requirements. This practical approach explains how Manufacturers can choose to use the EN 50581:2012 European Standard and the BOMcheck system to comply with the RoHS2 technical documentation requirements. One example is Carestream Health which is successfully using this approach to achieve RoHS2 compliance for Medical Devices by using EN 50581 and BOMcheck.

How BOMcheck supports the process specified in EN 50581 for Manufacturers to comply with RoHS2 Technical Documentation requirements

How BOMcheck supports the process specified in EN 50581 for Manufacturers to comply with RoHS2 Technical Documentation requirements

The above diagram summarises the process specified in EN 50581 and highlights how using BOMcheck to collect the documents from suppliers (Clause 4.3.3) enables the Manufacturer to save time and effort to comply with the Clause 4.3.4 document evaluation requirements. ENVIRON held a webinar on 19 July 2012 which demonstrates how the standardised process that suppliers follow to create materials declarations in BOMcheck ensures that these declarations already meet the Clause 4.3.4 quality and trustworthiness requirements (i.e. the Manufacturer does not need to carry out any additional document evaluation). If the Manufacturer’s assessment in Clause 4.3.2 determines that the supplier is also required to provide test reports to support their materials declarations, then the standardised process that suppliers follow to attach a test report to a declaration in BOMcheck requires the supplier to evaluate that the test report meets the Clause 4.3.4 quality and trustworthiness requirements (i.e. this reduces the time and effort for the Manufacturer to evaluate test reports). For further details please see recorded webinar on using BOMcheck and EN 50581 to comply with RoHS2 Technical Documentation Requirements and the slides from the webinar.